EASY AREA

The next generation of industrial LED image processing: Light section and vision sensor combined in a single system.

EASY AREA Brief description

EASY AREA is a freely configurable telecentric modular system based on colour-structured light that consists of sensors connected in a series as needed. EASY AREA uses a structured light section process that can scan a complete area or shape with a single image … and not just a single line as is the case when using laser triangulation. That also has economic benefits. For the same measurements, defined applications would require a greater number of the expensive laser sensors.

EASY AREA is used primarily for quality assurance purposes, in production processes, to record process parameters and for making available live images for monitoring production processes. A typical area of application is the inspection of rolled goods. In addition, EASY AREA is used for measurements that were previously impossible because of the physical conditions of light and shadows.

For example, EASY AREA allows a precise, vertical edge measurement using a beam path that is telecentric on the image side, i.e. the parallelisation of the camera beam path. The telecentric lens is not subject to geometric aberrations, such as distortion.

The beam paths can be designed in a way that allows all rays to predominantly hit the image sensor vertically in order to reduce shading from the material edges and to record image data from grooves or bores.

EASY AREA is a self-sufficient standalone measuring system, which means that the image is analysed directly in the sensor, which then also provides the result, e.g. 2D image data, 3D point clouds or other test results. It uses monochrome or colour area scan cameras with CMOS chips. The sensors, which can be connected in a series as needed, feature integrated optics and lighting.

EASY AREA LED-technology

All industries that process flat goods and sheet goods want to fully utilise their machine speeds to achieve an optimal production output. At the same time, it must be ensured that everything is going as smoothly as planned. Or that ordered processes are maintained, for example during passenger checks at airports.  Here, EASY AREA is used for checking the contents of the containers that hold personal belongings.

LED-based, telecentric surface sensors can assume measurement tasks at a lower cost than laser sensors did previously. They can continuously record data and also offer a precise output of 2D image data, 3D point clouds and measurement results at a much lower cost and with much less effort.

Our EASY AREA LED technology, which is standardised for the most part, has a vertical resolution of up to 50 µm and a surface resolution of 120 pixels per mm². It also allows an object speed of up to 2.5 m per second. And all of that in a single device.

50

µm optical vertical resolution

120

pixel per mm2

2,5

m/s object speed

EASY AREA operating principle

Our EASY AREA LED technology does not use any laser technology. As a result, it also does not require expensive laser protection measures or the training of personnel. In addition, by capturing an entire area, humans can comprehend the decision that was made.

Thanks to the telecentric optics and the shadow-free lighting, there is no shading, e.g. from grooves, and even the edges of measured objects are precisely detected. Thanks to an actively illuminated calibration body, EASY AREA is automatically calibrated while in operation. That eliminates downtimes for calibration and unnecessary additional costs since the calibration is contained in the image data.

The calibration body consists of quartz glass and is highly temperature-stable. This ensures that the calibration is unaffected by temperature swings and therefore always accurate. The measurement image can be double-checked manually using offline tools. This allows operators to accurately reproduce the measuring points.

Telecentric and
shadow-free

Calibration
while operating

Ambient temperature
of up to 60°C

EASY AREA customer-specific solutions

Innovative plant manufacturers and mechanical engineers, the manufacturing industry, medium-sized production companies … we have customers in all sectors. After familiarising ourselves with your applications and measuring tasks, we will develop the most stable EASY AREA application solutions for you. We will also take costs into account and use proven standard components whenever possible.

From feasibility studies and OEM or IoT applications to an after-sales service, our customers are advised and guided by select specialists from the fields of physics, optical electronics and mechanical engineering.

Our range of services includes design, integration and tests all the way to the start of production with a plug-and-play system. This not only applies to newly developed products but also the adaptation of proven standard products or a customer-specific retrofit – based on the individual requirements of the customer.

Needs-based
engineering

Proven industry
components

Installation / integration,
training and 24/7 service

EASY AREA technical data

Dimensions:
  • Sensor housing: L x W x H: n * 300 + 150 mm x 220 mm x 110 mm, n = 1 to 5
  • Depending on the required field of view, multiple housings can be connected in series
Performance:
  • Optical resolution: 1 pixel shows 50 μm x 50 μm
  • Optical vertical resolution: 65 μm
  • Speed of the object: up to 2 m/s
  • Exposure time: typically 50 s
Tasks:
  • Quality assurance in manufacturing
  • Capturing process parameters in manufacturing
  • Live image of the process for monitoring the production process
Special features:
  • Easy connect interface
  • Barcode / QR code reading and measurement in a single device
  • For use in tough conditions, highly dirt resistant
  • No "laser protection" required
  • Live calibration (automatic / manual offline measurement of images possible)
  • No errors during width measurement of "wavy" products
When you should consider EASY AREA:
  • If you use production processes involving products with widths from a few centimetres to several metres.
  • If you have to monitor more than one parameter during your production processes.
  • If the available space of your plant is small and you need space-saving solutions.
  • If you have to halt your production to calibrate or check your sensors and if a live calibration can prevent downtimes.
  • If you have to manually check your measured values or if this has to be done by an external expert/laboratory.

Do you have any questions?

Our technical assistance staff will happily assist you via phone or email:

T +49 7751 918 55-00
info@cst-gmbh.eu

EASY AREA

Die neue Generation industriellerLED-Bildverarbeitung.

EASY AREA Kurzcharakteristik

EASY AREA ist ein frei konfigurierbares telezentrisches Modul-System von bedarfsgerecht in Reihe geschalteten Sensoren auf der Grundlage farblich strukturierten Lichts. EASY AREA arbeitet mit einem strukturierten Lichtschnittverfahren, das mit einer einzigen Aufnahme eine komplette Fläche oder Form scannt … und nicht wie bei der Lasertriangulation … nur eine einzige Zeile. Daraus ergeben sich auch kostenseitige Vorteile. Für gleiche Messaufgaben bräuchte man in definierten Anwendungen vergleichsweise mehr an teurer Lasersensorik.

EASY AREA wird primär in der Qualitätssicherung, in der Fertigung, in der Erfassung von Prozessparametern und zur Bereitstellung von Live-Bildern zur Beobachtung von Fertigungsprozessen eingesetzt. Ein typischer Einsatzbereich ist die Rollenwareninspektion. Darüber hinaus erfüllt EASY AREA Messaufgaben, die bis dato schlichtweg an den physikalischen Rahmenbedingungen von Licht und Schatten scheiterten.

Mit EASY AREA wird zum Beispiel die präzise vertikale Kantenmessung durch einen bildseitig telezentrischen Strahlengang, also die Parallelisierung des Kamera-Strahlengangs, möglich. Das telezentrische Objektiv kennt keine geometrischen Abbildungsfehler, wie zum Beispiel Verzeichnung.

Die Strahlengänge können so gestaltet werden, dass alle Lichtstrahlen weitgehend senkrecht auf die Oberfläche des Bildsensors fallen, um Abschattungen durch Materialkanten zu reduzieren und in Rillen oder Bohrungen Bilddaten aufnehmen zu können.

EASY AREA ist ein autarkes Stand-Alone-Messsystem, das heißt, die Bildauswertung erfolgt direkt im Sensor, der auch das Ergebnis wie z. B. 2D-Bilddaten, 3D-Punktwolken und sonstige Prüfergebnisse ausgibt. Als Kamera kommen monochrome oder farbige Flächenkameras mit CMOS-Chips zum Einsatz. Die beliebig in Reihe schaltbaren Sensoren haben eine integrierte Optik und Beleuchtung.

EASY AREA LED-Technologie

In allen Flachgut- und Bahnware verarbeitenden Industrien gilt es, die Maschinengeschwindigkeiten zur Erreichung eines möglichst hohen Produktions-Outputs voll auszunutzen. Gleichzeitig ist aber auch sicherzustellen, dass alles seinen definierten Weg geht und in geregelten Bahnen läuft. Oder in geregelten Prozessen, wie zum Beispiel bei der Personenkontrolle an Flughäfen. Hier wird EASY AREA zur Inhaltskontrolle von Wannen mit persönlichen Gegenständen eingesetzt.

LED-basierte, telezentrische Flächen-Sensoren können hier Messaufgaben zu weitaus günstigeren Bedingungen übernehmen, als Laser-Sensoren das bisher konnten. Sie ermöglichen eine kontinuierliche Datenaufzeichnung sowie eine präzise Ausgabe von 2D-Bilddaten, 3D-Punktwolken und Messergebnissen zu signifikant niedrigeren Aufwänden und Kosten.

Unsere weitgehend standardisierte EASY AREA LED-Technologie verfügt über eine Höhenauflösung von bis zu 50µm und eine Flächenauflösung von 120 Pixeln pro mm². Sie erlaubt zudem eine Objektgeschwindigkeit von bis zu 2,5 m pro Sekunde. Und das alles in einem einzigen Gerät.

50

µm optische Höhenauflösung

120

Pixel pro mm2

2,5

m/s Objektgeschwindigkeit

EASY AREA Funktionsweise

Unsere EASY AREA LED-Technologie verzichtet komplett auf die Verwendung von Laser-Technologie. Dadurch entfallen kostenintensive Laserschutzmaßnahmen oder die Schulung von Personal. Außerdem wird durch das Erfassen einer ganzen Fläche eine vom Menschen nachvollziehbare Entscheidungsgrundlage geschaffen.

Durch die telezentrische Optik und die schattenfreie Beleuchtung gibt es keine Abschattungen z.B. durch Rillen und auch die Kanten von Messobjekten werden exakt erkannt. Durch einen aktiv beleuchteten Kalibrationskörper wird das EASY AREA während des Betriebes automatisch kalibriert. Dadurch entfallen Ausfallzeiten zur Kalibration und unnötige Mehrkosten, da die Kalibration in den Bilddaten enthalten ist.

Der Kalibrationskörper besteht aus Quarzglas und ist hochgradig temperaturstabil. Dadurch ist die Kalibration unempfindlich gegen Temperaturschwankungen und immer exakt. Über Offline-Tools kann das Messbild per Hand nachgemessen werden. Somit ist ein präzises Nachvollziehen der Messpunkte durch den Menschen möglich.

Telezentrisch
und schattenfrei

Kalibration
im Betrieb

Bis zu 60°C
Umgebungstemperatur

EASY AREA kundenspezifische Lösungen

Innovative Anlagen- und Maschinenbauer, produzierende Industrien, mittelständische Fertigungsbetriebe … unsere Kunden kommen aus allen Wirtschaftsbereichen. In Kenntnis ihrer Applikations- und Messaufgaben entwickeln wir für sie die stabilste EASY AREA Anwendungslösung, bei der wir aus Kostenerwägungen und wo immer möglich, auf bewährte Standardkomponenten zurückgreifen.

Von Machbarkeitsstudien über OEM- und IoT-Anwendungen bis hin zum After-Sales-Service werden unsere Kunden von ausgesuchten Spezialisten aus Physik, Optik-Elektronik und Maschinenbau beraten und begleitet.

Unser Leistungsspektrum erstreckt sich dabei über das Design, Integration und Test bis hin zur plug-and-play Produktionsaufnahme. Das gilt für Neuentwicklungen ebenso wie für die Anpassung bewährter Standardprodukte oder ein kundenspezifisches Retrofit – entsprechend der individuell eigenen Kundenbedarfe und Bedürfnisse.

Bedarfsgerechtes
Engineering

Bewährte Industrie-
Komponenten

Installation / Integration,
Schulung und 24/7-Services

EASY AREA Technische Daten

Abmessungen:
  • Sensorgehäuse: L x B x H: n * 300 + 150mm x 220mm x 110mm, n = 1 bis 5
  • Je nach benötigtem Sichtfeld sind mehrere Gehäuse in Reihe schaltbar
Leistung:
  • Optische Auflösung: 1 Pixel bildet 50μm x 50μm ab
  • Optische Höhenauflösung: 65μm
  • Geschwindigkeit des Objektes: bis 2m/s
  • Belichtungszeit: typisch 50s
Aufgaben:
  • Qualitätssicherung in der Fertigung
  • Erfassung von Prozessparametern in der Fertigung
  • Live-Bild des Prozesses zur Beobachtung der Fertigung
Besondere Merkmale:
  • Easy Connect-Schnittstelle
  • Barcode / QR-Code Lesung und Messtechnik in einem Gerät
  • Für Einsatz unter rauen Bedingungen, hohe Schmutzresistenz
  • Kein „Laserschutz“ notwendig
  • Live Kalibration (automatische / manuelle offline-Vermessung der Bilder möglich)
  • Kein Fehler bei der Breitenmessung bei „welligen“ Produkten
Wann EASY AREA für Sie interessant ist:
  • Wenn Sie Fertigungsprozesse betreuen, bei denen die Produkte Breiten von wenigen Zentimetern und bis zu einigen Metern aufweisen.
  • Wenn es bei Ihren Fertigungsprozessen auf die Überwachung von mehr als einem Parameter ankommt.
  • Wenn der Bauraum in Ihrer Anlage gering ist und Sie platzsparende Lösungen suchen.
  • Wenn Sie Ihre Fertigung zur Kalibration oder Prüfung der Sensoren anhalten müssen und eine Live-Kalibration Stillstandzeiten vermeiden kann.
  • Wenn Sie Ihre Messwerte manuell prüfen müssen oder dies von einem externen Gutachter / Labor erfolgen soll.

Sie haben Fragen?

Unsere technische Beratung freut sich auf einen Anruf oder eine E-Mail von Ihnen:

T +49 7751 918 55-00
info@cst-gmbh.eu